Breathing Ozone Bubbled Through Olive Oil! (BOO)

img_5210Hi there!

Breathing ozone is not something that you ever want to do.  However, there is a way to do it safely – that is breathing ozone bubbled through olive oil.  What you end up breathing then is not ozone itself, but terpene gas – which is produced when ozone interacts with olive oil.

**I used to believe that I was breathing “ozonides”.  I just learned that “ozonides are what the essential fatty acids in the olive oil are converted to when ozone interacts chemically with them” thank you Paul for claryifying!**

As of today, this is my favorite ozone treatment.  This therapy is really helping me – it is very nice to feel like my brain is finally coming back!  Welcome brain, I missed you!!!

Now, let me show you how I prepare to breath ozone through bubbling olive oil.

First, you will need the following:

Ozone Generator – you want one that produces low gamma that can be measured – check Paola’s suggestions here.

img_5223

 

Oxygen Source – I use an oxygen concentrator for this therapy.

img_5224

 

Pediatric Flowmeterwatch my post on how to DIY a cheap one!

img_5226

img_4785

 

Check valve – this is not essential but highly recommended to prevent liquids from backing up into your ozone generator.

img_5228

 

Gas Washing Bottle – the one on the video is from Promolife, you can also buy them on eBay or use your creativity to make one yourself (future post!).

img_5225

img_4774

img_4845

 

Cannula – I use a silicone cannula but many people seem to be fine with regular cannulas or prefer an oxygen mask.

img_5227

s-l500

 

Silicone tubbing – you usually get some with your ozone generator.  The regular size that fits most generators and accessories is 3/16 ID (inside diameter) x 5/16 OD (outer diameter).

silicone-tubingimg_5248

 

Connectors and Adaptors – I love these guys for connecting tubes – the luer lok ones are wonderful for generators that can plug directly to syringes.

hose-connectors-promolife

luer-connectors-promolife

You can also use small pieces of thinner or wider silicone tubing as adaptors.

 

Ok, now that you know what is needed for BOO watch this short step by step video to see how I put things together:

I hope you enjoyed the video!

Here are a few tips from things I have learned along the way…

How much oil do I need?

After trial/error and also by learning from others, now I always fill about 1/3 of the bottle with olive oil.

You might think that covering the inside bubbling ball with oil is more than enough – BIG MISTAKE!  Been there, done that… What happens is that you end up breathing some ozone instead of terpene gas!  You might feel discomfort in your throat and even start coughing.  If this happens, take some vitamin C to neutralize the ozone (antioxidant vs oxidant).

To prevent this from happening just be generous with your oil and fill the bottle close to 1/3 of its capacity!

 

img_5249

My oil looks lighter and thicker!

Another thing to look for is how your oil changes in color with use.  It will get much lighter and it will also become more dense.  These are signs that your oil is saturating from being exposed to ozone.

So, if after a few sessions of BOO you notice that your oil gets a lot lighter and starts getting more viscous, then it might be a good time to empty your bottle and get some fresh olive oil.

img_5051

You might also notice that during colder weather your oil will saturate a lot faster.  Ozone gets neutralized by heat, but it survives longer under lower temperatures.

Check out this super short video to see what happened one time I left my bottle close to the window in the middle of the winter.  Trust me, you don’t want to do this breathing therapy with oil that dense…

What to do with the viscous lighter oil?

I can tell you what I do.  I have a glass container where I collect all the oil I can’t use for BOO any longer (as it has become too saturated) and I keep it in the freezer.   I have used this oil to remove makeup, as a moisturizer and to brush my teeth (don’t swallow it!).

I’m waiting to have enough oil in the freezer to venture into soap making… I will keep you posted on that one!

How do I clean my bubbler?

Ok, I don’t really have an answer for this – just some ideas…

I have tried letting it soak in alcohol for more than 24 hours with very poor results.

I have also tried cleaning it with baking soda and vinegar – that helped a bit.

What helped the most was putting the bubbler in a pot with water and bringing it to a boil.  After 20+minutes and some babysitting… it completely removed the oil residue at times, though only partially in other instances.  Be careful if you try this, some bubblers are thiner than others and if they are glass they can be quite fragile.

Nowadays, I have a few gas washing bottles so when it is time to figure out how to clean the bubbler I always have a spare to continue with my BOO therapy.

img_4682

Hope you enjoyed this post and the videos.  Once you understand how to breath ozone bubbled through olive oil you will see that it is quite easy to do 🙂

Take care!

tere

 

One thought on “Breathing Ozone Bubbled Through Olive Oil! (BOO)

Leave a Reply

