Arepas!!!

I made these guys last Tuesday.  We were at Breckenridge, CO.  It was cold, I was stuck at the condo, and have brought some “harina Pan”.  So, let’s make arepas!!!

Arepas are perfect for me because the are gluten free and have no diary, and no added sugar 🙂  Happiness!!!

 

Ingredients

2 cups precooked corn flour (harina Pan)

2 cups water

2 teaspoons salt

2 tablespoons avocado oil

Preheat oven at 350F.

Put all ingredients on a bowl and mix well.   Work on the dough with clean hands for a few minutes, until it is nice and soft.

Make round shaped patties (size depending on what you like).

Oil a large skillet and lightly cook arepas for about 5 minutes each side.

Place the lightly cooked arepas on an oiled cookie sheet.   Put the in the preheated oven and bake for about 15 minutes.

My arepas were about 2 inches in diameter, nice small size for cutting them in the middle.  You can eat them with cheese, avocado, beans, meat, etc etc etc…   I served them with some refried beans, avocado, and red onions (I marinate the onions in lime and salt).

I have seen them made really big, almost the size of a hamburger bun (not that thick) and then cut in the middle and filled with chicken or meat or whatever…  They are just delicious (regardless the size ;p)!!!

Enjoy!!!

4 thoughts on “Arepas!!!

  1. The Harina Pan I have here says, ‘may contain traces of wheat…” Did you do ok with them? I used to live in Venezuela and arepas have been a staple at my home my whole life. I’ve used imported Arina PAN for years, but now that I need tobe on a gluten-free diet, I’m worried about it.

    • Hi Mary. Thanks for reading my blog 🙂
      I did ok with it, but I am not celiac, I am just really sensitive to gluten.
      My favorite “gluten free” crackers are Blue diamond Pecan Nut-Thins. They are produced on a facility that also makes products containing wheat, but they run a test for each batch to see if it meets what is considered low enough gluten levels to be called gluten free. In their case, they do not exceed 20 PPM (parts per million) or 0.002% of gluten content.
      With harina Pan we have no gluten content details of any kind… so, it might be a bit risky if you are celiac. I know that some celiac people can handle trace amounts of gluten, but others can not even touch it. Please, let me know if you decide to try it – I really hope it works out if you do!!!! Arepas are so yummy!!!! Good luck 😀

    • I will give Donarepa a try. I haven’t touched Harina Pan since finding out about the warning on the label. I tried Masa Harina, and it just isn’t right – the arepas came out really soggy. I’ll be learning how to use Masa Harina in other recipes, like tamales, since I didn’t have any problem with it. So, I’ll let you know about Donarepa, thanks!

Leave a Reply

