Gluten Free & Vegan “Awesome” Brownies

I LOVE brownies!!!  Eating now diary and egg free is NOT going to stop me from making them and eating them!  That being said…  Here is another gluten free – vegan brownie recipe!

I found the original recipe for these brownies at The Spunky Coconut, which is another fabulous foodie blog for the dietary challenged treat lovers…   Kelly is just another of those really talented people you find on the web sharing their God given gifts with the rest of mortals!

Of course, as I can not help playing around with ingredients, I made a few changes here and there to Kelly’s already fabulous recipe 😉

Gluten Free & Vegan “Awesome” Brownies

Beat with electric mixer:

  • 1/2 cup applesauce + 2 tbsp of water
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum

Add to mixture and beat:

  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (room temperature, not melted)
  • pinch of pure stevia powder ( I used less than 1/8 tsp of nu-naturals)
  • 1/4 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup + 3 tbsp cocoa powder

Mix well and let it set for a couple of minutes, then add to mixture:

  • 3 tsp golden flaxmeal
  • 1/4 cup water

Fold into mixture:

  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts

Grease and flour an 8x8x2 baking pan (I used rice flour).

Bake in preheated toaster oven at 325 degrees, for about 25 minutes.

Let it cool completely and cut in squares.

Knowing that this was a huge risk since it was and untested experiment…  I still brought the brownies to Valery’s.  Valery is my dear friend and neighbor and she had invited us over to try a paella she was making for the first time.  So, I thought… two experiments on one night should be fun…

Well, I have to say that I was very pleased with the results.  The brownies were delicate, somehow fudgy but not runny, and full of flavor and deliciousness…  Everybody loved them, even after I explained that they were gluten free, vegan, no real sugar, etc…   Ah… I wish I had made another batch…  By the way, Valery’s paella was truly wonderful!

I thought that the brownies were sweet enough and might even work without the agave nectar.  I need to try them again sometime and omit the agave nectar!

Hope you like them!  Please let me know if you try the recipe and how it turns out 🙂

‘Til soon,

Tere

Leave a comment