Gluten Free & Vegan Chocolate “Naked” Cupcakes


Hi!  Hope you are having a great week 🙂

Today I felt like chocolate again…  Didn’t use to like chocolate too much, but I think that it is one of those things that comes with age (and crazy hormones…), right? ;p

I can never make a recipe “as is”.  My scientific brain always wants to play a little…   Today’s “experiment” is  adapted from this Gluten Free Dark Chocolate Cupcakes recipe I found on this cute foodie blog.

Remember that all of my recipes are adapted to fit on a toaster oven.  Basically, you get half of the portions you would get on regular recipes.

Gluten Free – Vegan – Chocolate “Naked” Cupcakes (Toaster Oven version)

  • 1 cup white rice flour
  • 1/4 cup tapioca flour
  • 1/4 cup raw almond meal
  • 1/4 cup 100% cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. + 1/4 tsp. xanthan gum
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/8 cup coconut oil
  • 1/8 cup avocado oil
  • 3 squares (about 43grs.) 100% cacao unsweetened chocolate
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 1/8 cup agave nectar
  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp. unsweetened almond milk (used chocolate but vanilla should be fine!)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat toaster oven to 350 F.  Have handy a 6 cupcakes pan and place cupcakes liners on it.  Grease with oil borders of pan so  cupcakes won’t stick on it ;p

In a medium bowl mix all dry ingredients, except coconut sugar.

In another bowl place coconut oil and the 3 blocks of 100% cacao unsweetened chocolate.  Melt on the microwave for about 1 minute.  Yes, I know… I would usually melt it on a double boiler, but remember that I don’t have a stove!!!

Mix the melted chocolate and coconut oil well and add the avocado oil.   Add to this mixture the coconut sugar, agave nectar, almond milk and vanilla.  Mix well.

Whisk together dry ingredients with wet ingredients.  You should a have a pretty dense and creamy mixture…  Pretty yummy… I like dough…

Fill cupcake baking pan.  You will have enough mixture for filling cupcake liners to the top.  That is why I suggest to oil the top of the pan so when the cupcakes overflow while baking they will not stick and will be easy to release.

Bake for about 18-20 minutes on your toaster oven.

I think that the cupcakes came out pretty well.

The original recipe calls for 1 tsp of almond extract, which I tried on my first batch.   I decided to omit it from the recipe since the strength of the almond extract was overpowering the rest of the flavors and giving the cupcakes sort of an artificial taste.   All that chocolate, vanilla, coconut oil, etc… provides more than enough yummy flavor on its own!


I did enjoy tasting the mixture… the fact that it has no eggs makes it more “tasting friendly” (not that eggs ever stopped me in the past lol!).

Please, let me know if you make them.  Would love to hear how they came out and what changes you made, if any.  And, if you want to make 12 cupcakes on your regular oven, just double the recipe and bake for about 25 minutes.

If you want to add frosting, check out the original recipe.

Enjoy!

Till’ soon,

Tere

P.S.:  I called these cupcakes “naked” because my husband suggested that name since they have no frosting…

Leave a Reply

